Better Late Then Never…

Standard

So, I was supposed to write a blog post for you guys while “the one who may be Juliet” was gone. But she’s back from her trip now, and I still haven’t written anything for you guys. So that’s what I’ll be doing for you today. I actually had a blog myself, but it was written by angsty 12-year-old me. Trust me, no one wants to see that. I only pray that Google heard my prayers and nuked it from the internet like I requested. Any who, I guess you could say this is me getting back on the ol’ blogging horse (although I’m actually just sitting here in my computer chair). However, there remains the small problem of I have no idea what I want to blog about. I could go back into my old blog for ideas, but that’s one grave I want to leave untouched.

I guess I could talk about the internet. It’s such a deeply ingrained part of my life that I can’t imagine what kind of person I would be without it. You see, like many people, I’m in a love-hate relationship with the internet. It was both my faithful companion into many lonely nights and my crippling addiction that prevented me from getting anything productive done. You are what you eat, and I’m the conglomeration of countless videos, images, blogs, articles, and god knows what else that you’ll find in your feeds. For better or for worse, I’m a child of the internet, and that both excites and scares me.

It’s fascinating really. What originally started as a government project for communicating instantaneously over long distances began one of the most important advances in technology since, well, the computer. It’s amazing that something so incredibly vital to our culture today was only created roughly 20 years ago. 20 YEARS! Did the car connect friends and families from around the world in the first 20 years of its creation? Did the telephone inspire millions upon millions of people to become content creators for other to enjoy?  Did the television become integrated into practically every piece of technology we use in its first 20 years? I don’t think so.

However, despite its astounding growth, the internet is merely a step in a long line of mans attempt to get closer to one another. Think about it: the car, the train, and eventually the plane, were created because we felt like we couldn’t get to each other fast enough. Eventually, physical transportation wasn’t fast enough, so we created the telephone and radio so we could talk to each other, even if we were thousands of miles away. Even then, our voices weren’t enough. We needed to be able to see one another, and our surroundings, so we created the television and the camera. Even after all of that, not enough people felt like they could create and send the message they wanted, so they invented the computer. And finally, despite the incredibly massive leaps in technology we had taken, people still wanted to be able to communicate and share any form of content they could possibly want, so we created the internet.

Now that it’s touched practically every part of civilized life in the time it takes a human to grow into their biological prime, I can’t imagine what’s in store for the future.

(To reward you for reading this, here’s a kitten with a mustache.)

Leave a Reply

