Books, books, books!

Standard

So far this year, I have read about 48 books give or take. My brain is filled with love triangles, wizards, superpowers, and teenage angst. I try to vary what genres I read from, but I’m kinda making up for lost time when it comes to young adult novels.

Out of all the books I’ve read, some of my favorites have been (in no particular order):

  • The Fault in Our Stars by John Green
  • Coraline by Neil Gaiman
  • V for Vendetta by Alan Moore (graphic novel)
  • Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro
  • I Capture the Castle by Dodie Smith
  • Why We Broke Up by Daniel Handler

These are the ones I find myself blathering about and recommending to my friends. I actually only own two of these books personally, but ya know…broke college kid and all that. 😛

I have been asked how I can possibly have time to read as much as I do. The answer is, whenever I’m doing schoolwork, housework, or anything else I’m reading. It is my life.

I mean, it’s been my coping mechanism since I was about 6. Whenever I was bored or embarrassed, I’d read. And now, I have two giant bookcases in my room, books under my bed, books in my closet, and books stored in my sisters’ rooms. Addiction might be the right word.I love books so much that my parents used to actually ground me from reading when I got in trouble.

I am “that” girl: the one who raises her hand in class when the teacher asks “Now who has read ___ ?” or who always says “The book is better” after seeing a movie. And I’m sorry. I’m not sorry for who and what I am, but I am sorry for “book people”.

I know far too many people who have been put off reading by the annoying girl/guy who comes up, makes some snide remark about their reading material of choice, and then flounces away. Do I think that some books are greater? Heck yes! But when we shove those books on reluctant readers,  sometimes it’s enough to crush them altogether.

However, that being said, if I see you reading Twilight, I will point and laugh.. I have read full-on actual romance novels that were better written and had more of a plot. I know it makes me hypocritical, but I just…it…I  can’t, guys!

How do you feel about books? Love ’em? Hate ’em? Do you love Twilight and hate me? Let me know 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

