I did not fall in love

Standard

I did not fall in love today, as someone said I should.

It’s not for lack of trying, though. I would have if I could.

The air was just a bit too thick. The atmosphere was sour.

Why, never could I fall in love when all is grim and dour!

 

I did not fall in love today, despite a desperate cry.

It seemed for every kind “Hello!”, I received a rude goodbye.

The sun was just a wee too bright. The flowers were too gay.

Why who could ever fall in love on a day like today?

 

I did not fall in love today. Why should I, if you please?

Love is a hardy illness that brings great men to their knees.

Luckily, I’ve had my shots. My record’s up to date.

I’m immune to all its tricks. My health chart is first rate.

 

I did not fall in love today. What is that to you?

My mother would be quite ashamed were I as rude, it’s true!

All matters of the heart should be good and left alone

Instead of being written down through gossip’s gramophone.

 

A work in progress piece of my poetry! (Update: I don’t why this didn’t show up until today. Glitch?)

Leave a Reply

