The Hunger Games: A Movie Review

Standard

Hello lovelies!

This last week has been full of crazy ups and downs. I’m on break now, though, so I have a little bit of time to decompress.

On to more important topics: The Hunger Games!!!! (limited spoilers ahead…)

Guys, I really really liked this film. It’s on my list of best book to movie adaptations. There were some frustrating things (i.e shaky camera movement, sins of omission, etc.), however it was still fantastic! Jennifer Lawrence deserves all the awards. 🙂 Her performance was moving and just perfect. She fulfilled my vision of Katniss. Hats off to her.

Josh Hutcherson was an ideal Peeta.  I was worried that the movie would overemphasize the Peeta/Katniss romance,but I actually found myself wishing that their relationship got a little more screen time.  Also, the fact that Katniss sees the relationship as a facade is never raised in the movie, which is kind of important!

Liam Hemworth was a gorgeous Gale (of course!). Since Gale isn’t really a crucial character in the first book,  I can’t really say that he was good or bad in the role. Elizabeth Banks was the perfect Effie. Really, she was spot on. Woody Harrelson was great as Haymitch. The only think that irked me is that the character sobered up rather quickly, keeping us from seeing the full picture of Haymitch as portrayed in the book. Donald Sutherland was a sinister President Snow. I can’t wait to see more of him in Catching Fire! Lenny Kravitz was so-so as Cinna. His performance didn’t particularly stand out. Wes Bentley was a good Seneca Crane, but his performance was shadowed by the brilliance of his beard.

The tributes were great! Alexander Ludwig was an intense Cato and Amandla Stenberg  was the most adorable Rue. I would argue that she outshone Willow Shields’ performance as Prim by a long shot. And can we give a shout out to Jacqueline Emerson as Foxface? She didn’t have a single line, but she rocked that role! She was exactly how I imagined Foxface.

  The pacing was good (in my opinion. Some of my friends felt like it moved a little too fast). Overall, though a great movie based on a great book!

Leave a Reply

