Friendship

Standard

Now before I get going on this, I should preface: I have some spectacular friends! There are times I get depressed or discouraged. I have days where I truly feel alone in the world. But the truth is, I have friends by me the whole time. So, know my opinion on this subject is beyond biased.

According to Dictionary.com, friendship is synonymous with harmony, accord, understanding, and rapport.  Calling someone your friend implies they’re someone you are intimate with and loyal to.

I’ve been thinking about this a lot, mostly because of Facebook. I have hundreds of “friends” on Facebook. But how many of them are people that I would call if something was wrong or would trust with a secret? Honestly, maybe 15 and even that might be stretching it.

Our world is one in which the word “friend” has replaced acquittance. If we’ve met a person more than once, have their number in our phone, or  have contacted them online, we consider them a friend.  And shoot me, but I don’t think that’s what friendship is.

My personal definition of a friend is a person that’s fun to be around, that you can’t relate to, and that “gets” you. You don’t have to behave proper. You can be yourself around them. They’ve got your back and you’ve got theirs. And somehow, in your own quirky way, being around them makes you better. You’re more “you” than you are around other people.

Does this mean that I believe that there is such a thing as a perfect friendship? Nope, and I’ll tell you why. Because there are no perfect people and that’s all a friendship is really. It’s two people.  Or more 🙂

That’s it.

 

One response »

  1. Pingback: Friendship « words from the soul

Leave a Reply

