The Beginning of the End…

Standard
Metallic ballpen tips / biro Ballpen Ballpoint...

… of Summer.

August is all but here. Back to school ads fill the television.  Decisions get harder and harder. Choices that I make now actually matter in big, life-shaping ways. My stomach is tied in knots.

Soon, I’ll have to put away fun and spontaneity. They’ll be replaced by planners and deadlines.  My carefree days will become crammed full of places to be and things to accomplish, expectations to meet and rules to follow.

And I hate it.

I hate the tense that fills the air as my friends and I begin to separate. I hate the fact that I’m going to have to figure out a plan- soon. I hate the lined paper, #2 pencils, and fresh pressed smiles that you buy on sale at Target. I hate having to change.

And I hate the fact that my world is slowly being dissolved by the real world. The cold-faced realities replace the kind looks of my childhood.

When we come right down to it, I guess I hate growing up.

Leave a Reply

