X-Men: First Class

Standard
X-Men First Class: Michael Fassbender & James ...

Image by Lyon & Pan via Flickr

Let me start this by saying I’ve only seen the first X-men movie and this one. I haven’t even read the comics…yet! So, my review is based solely on my enjoyment of the film, not on how well it follows the comics or whatever.

I saw three films starring James McAvoy this weekend (of Becoming Jane, Narnia: LW and the W).  The first was Gnomeo and Juliet, which I refuse to review. It was cute but soooo cliched it was almost painful. The next was Penelope, which could have been much better. I just felt like the story was rushed and never fleshed out. Then I saw X-Men First Class.

The story is simple. It’s all about the origins of the mutants we all know and love (Professor X, Magneto, Mystique) and some that I at least was unfamiliar with (Banshee, Angel, etc.).  The pacing is good, the plot is interesting, and the action is just what you’d expect from X-Men.

What I loved, being into psychology, was to see the relationships. I especially loved getting to learn more about the friendship/battle/bromance between Professor X and Magneto. However, as much as I understand the need for the plot to keep moving, I really wish that they could have spent more time on this relationship (maybe a spin-off? 🙂 ).

Another interesting dynamic was Mystique. She seemed really needy. I mean, she’s a hardcore chick who can hold her own in battle, but emotionally, she seemed like one of those girls who needs a man to assure her of her own self-worth. Jennifer Lawrence was good, but her performance did nothing to soothe my doubts about her role as Katniss in the upcoming Hunger Games movie.

Then there’s Moira MacTaggert. In the comics, she’s a geneticist. In the movie, she’s a CIA agent. Overall, she was ok. She was a necessary tool in the plot to bring the mutants together, but it seemed a bit contrived.

Can I talk about Prof. X/Magneto again? 🙂 Both James McAvoy and Patrick Fassbender were stupendous. I loved the contrast they provide. X is all about control, serenity, and the greater good. Magneto is more about rare power, emotion, and self-preservation.  I do like the fact that Magneto is shown for the complex character he is, although from the beginning we can see his villain tendencies.

Overall, it was a fun movie. It provided an entertaining ride without taking itself too seriously. I can say one thing. It certainly has me interested in exploring the X-Men galaxy.

One response »

Leave a Reply

