Delicious

Standard

Bring your fork up to your mouth.

Eat slowly, savoring each bite.

I’ll sit here smiling, adoringly,

Trying with all my might not to cry

The pain fills my chest. I’ll do my best

To hide it as you refill your fork

Back to your mouth, another

Mouthful. You must love the dish

It’s only the best for you, darling.

This recipe is all mine, one of a kind

I worked hard, hoping you’d find

It delicious. I was right. You

Look at me, and ask, oh so casually,

What it is that you’re devouring.

The answer might surprise you dear.

It’s my heart.

Leave a Reply

