_____’s Heart: A sonnet

Standard
Title page of Shakespeare's Sonnets (1609)

Image via Wikipedia

Awhile ago, I was really interested in sonnets. Shakespeare and and Elizabeth Barrett Browning are two of my favorite poets, and they both wrote sonnets, so I decided that I needed to at least attempt it.  The required elements are

  • 14 lines
  • Iambic Pentameter (ababcdcdefegg)
  • 3 quatrains and a final couplet

I didn’t quite follow this list. I did four quatrains and no final couplet…oh well! This is one of the sonnets I wrote. Constructive criticism is encouraged!:

I look up and see your face- one brief glance

And once again I turn away in fear

That in that moment, you saw by chance

In my eyes the true feelings that linger here

My heart is laid bare; a book all can read

I am nothing more than a girl in love

But I know not what you hope, want, or need

Your words are like sparrows, or flighty doves.

What would it take for you to tell me plain,

Whether hate, love, or apathy were yours

Towards me? No truth could drive me more insane

Your answer are vague, like door upon door

In a never ending hall. So too goes

Your heart, or at least the piece I can see.

Why must I talk in this poor meager prose?

Why can’t I tell you what you mean to me?

4 responses »

Leave a Reply

