My take on Osama bin Laden’s death

Standard

I assume that everyone who has the ability to read this blog has heard of the death of Osama bin Laden. It’s a pretty big deal. He was the leader of Al Qaeda, and was responsible for countless attacks on Americans world wide, including (most likely) 9/11.

According to the President of the United States, bin Laden was a “mass murderer.” I agree. He was the one behind the deaths of countless people, whether or not he was the one wearing the bomb. My instinct is to rejoice the fact that such an evil man is no longer in the world.

But, being the retrospective person that I am, I’ve been wondering something. Does rejoicing in his death make me the same as him? After all, he was the enemy of my country. He sought the complete destruction of my way of life. Why shouldn’t I be happy that he is gone? Then I realized that, in a twisted way, he felt the same.  From his perspective, the same was true about America.  Now, I obviously disagree, but it is something to think about.

If I am happy about the loss of human life (no matter how evil), what kind of a person does that make me?

Just a thought.

Leave a Reply

