Doctor Who

Standard

 

So, I happen to adore a certain British TV show. It’s funny, it’s scary, it’s wonderful.  And, to top it all off, it is one of the longest running shows on television. For those of you haven’t already guessed (or who somehow managed to overlook the title of this blog.  Reread it now..), that show is Doctor Who!

The current TARDIS seen at BBC TV Centre and t...

Image via Wikipedia

The Doctor is a Time Lord who travels in the TARDIS , a machine whose name is an abbreviation for Time And Relative Dimension(s) In Space.  The Doctor travels through time and space saving the day. He is often accompanied by a human companion.

My favorite thing about the show is the witty dialogue. Lines like:

“I’m making perfect sense. You’re just not keeping up.”

“This isn’t going to be big on dignity.”

‎”This is extremely very not good!”

‎”You mean you still practice teleportation? How quaint! Now, if you got yourself a decent forklift truck…”

“You know, the worse the situation the worse your jokes get.”

‎”Vaporisation without representation is against the constitution!”

“If I knew, I wouldn’t ask. Don’t be obtuse, man!”

and

“There’s one thing you never put in a trap if you’re smart, if you value your continued existence, if you have any plans about seeing tomorrow there’s one thing you never, never put in a trap: me.”

It’s brilliant!

There are only three things I dislike about the show.

1. It’s British, making it hard for those of us without Netflix hard pressed to find a way to actually WATCH the show!

Jack Harkness

Image via Wikipedia

2. There is a character that appears throughout different times in the show named Jack Harkness. He happens to be really hot. He also happens to be bisexual, and primarily gay. So, I’m not going to go in depth on my opinions concerning homosexuality.  He is the only character with an other than heterosexual orientation. My views on this are far too complicated to explain here. However, I don’t think that this fits with the overall tone of the show, nor was it a necessary thing to add. So, yeah …

3. The plot can make no sense at all sometimes. I don’t mean it’s complicated, I mean that there are times when I’m jut staring, wondering what the Giant Wasp has to do with anything!

I really don’t have a right to call myself a Doctor Who fan. I’ve only seen a couple episodes. I own no TARDIS models or action figures.  I’m not going to Gallifrey One. But it’s a show I enjoy and hope to see more of it in the future, in spite of its flaws.

If you want to know more, check out the Wikipedia link below or watch some of Charlieissocoollike’s videos on YouTube.

Leave a Reply

