Dorks vs Geeks

Standard

So today I wanted to talk about dorks. And geeks. And dorks versus geeks.

According to Dictionary.com, a dork is a stupid or ridiculous person; jerk; nerd.
A geek is a computer expert or enthusiast (a term of pride as self-reference, but often considered offensive when used by outsiders), a peculiar or otherwise dislikable person, esp. one who is perceived to be overly intellectual. 

OR 

a carnival performer who performs sensationally morbid or disgusting acts, as biting off the head of a live chicken.
(No, I didn’t make that up.)
Now, I’ve always considered myself a dork.  I love watching Star Wars, I’m obsessed with reading… But now I’m wondering if I’m actually a geek. Have I been deceived all these years?
Even with the definitions, I’m still confused. What do you think? Are you a dork or geek? Which is better? What the heck does biting the heads off chickens have to do with computers?!?!??!
a Nerdy or possibly geeky, but definitely confused,
Juliet
Oh, btw, here’s a video about how I would define Dorks:
2 responses »

Leave a Reply

