Christina Rossetti

Standard
Christina Rossetti

Image via Wikipedia

I enjoy the poetry of Christina Rossetti, possibly because it reminds me of my own or what I aspire to anyways.  I like to think that we would have been friends if we had lived during the same era.

I do think that it’s rather tragic that most people only know her “Goblin Market” poem. I mean, it’s a very well-written poem, but I don’t think it’s anywhere close to her best work.

She was a terrifically witty person who liked to tease, laugh, smile, and flirt. Her work expresses her vivaciousness. But it also shows her seriousness and her understanding of the complications of life and romance.

So, the whole point of this post is for me to share some of my favorite quotes from this poet. Enjoy:

I tell my secret? No indeed, not I:
Perhaps some day, who knows?
But not today; it froze, and blows and snows,
And you’re too curious: fie!
You want to hear it? well:
Only, my secret’s mine, and I won’t tell.

from “Winter: My Secret”

I have no heart?–Perhaps I have not;
But then you’re mad to take offence
That I don’t give you what I have not got:
Use your own common sense.

from “No, Thank You, John”

You took my heart in your hand
With a friendly smile,
With a critical eye you scanned,
Then set it down,
And said: It is still unripe,
Better wait awhile;

from “Twice”

What would I give for a heart of flesh to warm me through,
Instead of this heart of stone ice-cold whatever I do;
Hard and cold and small, of all hearts the worst of all.

from “What Would I Give?”

Leave a Reply

