Louisa May Alcott is clueless about romance

Standard
Headshot of Louisa May Alcott (November 29, 18...

Louisa May Alcott

Look, I know what you’re thinking. Or, at least, I know what you’re probably thinking. What the monkey is up with this post’s title?

Louisa May Alcott wrote Little Women. It’s an endearing classic about the coming-of-age of four sisters: Meg, Jo, Amy, and Beth.  And she is a decent writer.  I read tons of her books in middle school like

  • Eight Cousins
  • Rose in Bloom
  • An Old-Fashioned Girl
  • An Old-Fashioned Thanksgiving
  • The Inheritance
  • Little Women (of course)
  • Little Men
  • Jo’s Boys

So, I guess you could say that I know a little about her books.

And I can tell you the two overriding traits of her writing: children and failed romance. Okay, there’s also moral lessons, dramas, and support for women’s rights, but the main themes are children and failed romance.

The girl and the guy that you most want to be together hardly ever end up together. It’s infuriating! To this day, I fervently hope that Jo and Laurie will end up together. I really, really do. Why? Because they would be freaking awesome, that’s why!

I guess all women have a desire to play matchmaker. And Ms. Alcott is no exception. However, she is a member of that class of women who should NEVER decide who marries who! The one exception might (MIGHT) be in “An Old Fashioned Girl”. Other than that though, I pretty much hate her decisions.*

That is all. My rant is over. I just needed to get that out of my system after rereading one of her books last night.

In other news, I really like skorts. And oranges. And white boards. But not necessarily all at the same time. That might be overwhelming! I think that I should probably stop while I’m ahead, and before I type something really silly, since I’m just in one of those moods.

*And maybe in The Inheritance. But that doesn’t count, since it is, for all practical purposes, a romance novel. Yep. I’ve read a romance novel. Shut  up.

Leave a Reply

